Ron Asheton (ex-Stooges): Guitar
Ray Gunn: Rhythm Guitar
Scott Thurston: Keyboards
Jimmy Recca (ex-Stooges): Bass
Dennis 'Machine Gun' Thompson (ex-MC5): Drums
Jeff Spry, Dave Gilbert, :Vocals

The New Order was an American hard rock and proto-punk band. The band was based in Los Angeles and existed from early 1975 to October 1976.

After the Stooges imploded in 1974, former Stooges lead guitarist Ron Asheton, forged a new band; ultimately acquiring MC5 drummer Dennis "Machine Gun" Thompson, former Stooges bass player Jimmy Recca and former Stooges and future Iggy Pop keyboardist Scott Thurston.

This was at the same time that Iggy Pop was rehearsing with former The Doors keyboardist, Ray Manzarek. Ray and many underground rock fans had their eye on Iggy Pop to possibly become the heir to the confrontational, dark rock throne vacated by the death of Jim Morrison, which in some ways, Iggy actually did. Ray's early line-up also featured, (on drums and bass), the Los Angeles based brothers, Hunt Sales and Tony Sales, both Detroit natives who would later play with Iggy Pop on the albums: Kill City, Lust For Life and TV Eye Live 1977 and much later (1988-1992) with David Bowie in Tin Machine. Early on, both Ray's project and Ron's project, ironically, shared rehearsal space at a house owned by Ray.

The New Order recorded demos two times in Los Angeles: #1 in 1975 and #2 in 1976, each with a different lead singer. Both recordings were later released as a single vinyl album on the French label, Fun Records/Isadora, in 1977.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...